Bayern Munich crowned Bundesliga Champions

Bayern Munich have been crowned Bundesliga Champions for the 2017/18 season making it six consecutive titles in a row.

Bayern Munich Bundesliga Champions
Bayern Munich players celebrate winning the Bundesliga title

The win means Bayern Munich pick up their 28th League title extending them further out as Germany’s most successful club team. The 4-1 win over local rivals Augsburg takes them 20 points clear of nearest rivals Schalke with five games of the season left to play.

Bayern fell 1-0 behind in the local derby at Augsburg with former Hoffenheim defender Nicolas Sule putting the ball through his own net after 18 minutes of the game.

Corentin Tolisso and James Rodriguez both scored putting the champions 2-1 up at the interval. Second half goals from Arjen Robben and Sandro Wagner sealed the three points and the championship for Bayern.

The Bavarians are still on course to complete the treble this season with games in the DFB Cup and the Champions League still upcoming.

Bayern will face Sevilla in the Allianz Arena on Wednesday for the second-leg of the last eight tie, which they find themselves 2-1 up. With two away goals, Sevilla will need to win by two clear goals to progress into the semi-finals, making the Germans the clear favourites to progress.

Bayern will then face Bayer Leverkusen on the 17th of April in the DFB Cup Semi-Final, a game which they are clear favourites for again.

Interim manager Jupp Heynckes will be hoping to make it another treble-winning season, something he accomplished in his last spell at Bayern back in 2013.