Brazil name 23-man World Cup 2018 squad for Russia

Five times winners Brazil have named their final 23-man squad for the World Cup in Russia which kicks off in less than one months time.

Brazil World Cup 2018 Squad
Brazil have named Neymar in their 23-man squad for the World Cup

Brazil manager Tite has included star forward Neymar Junior in the squad who has just recovered from an ankle injury and is currently lacking match fitness. However, the Brazil manager is confident he can regain his match fitness levels during the build to the big event in Russia in June.

The surprise inclusions to the squad include Shakhtar Donetsk midfielder Fred and striker Taison. The squad also includes six players from the English Premier League with four players from Manchester City, one from Chelsea and one from Liverpool. Former Liverpool midfielder Philippe Coutinho has also been included in the final-23 man squad.

As reported earlier in the week right-back Dani Alves has been left out due to picking up a knee injury in the final of the French Cup for Paris Saint-Germain.

The five-time World Cup champions will kick-off their campaign against Switzerland on the 17th of June. Before that, they will play two friendlies against Croatia at Anfield then Austria in Vienna.

Tites men going into the finals as one of the tournament favourites alongside Germany, France and Spain. They will be hoping to make it six World Cup triumphs.

The Brazil squad in full is:

Goalkeepers: Alisson (Roma), Ederson (Manchester City) Cassio (Corinthians).

Defenders: Danilo (Manchester City), Fagner (Corinthians), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Filipe Luis (Atletico Madrid), Thiago Silva and Marquinhos (PSG), Miranda (Inter Milan), Pedro Geromel (Gremio).

Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Paulinho (Barcelona), Fred (Shakhtar Donetsk), Renato Augusto (Beijing Guoan), Philippe Coutinho (Barcelona), Willian (Chelsea), Douglas Costa (Juventus).

Forwards: Neymar (PSG), Taison (Shakhtar Donetsk), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool).