Eintracht Frankfurt beat Bayern to lift DFB Cup

Eintracht Frankfurt pulled off a shock by beating Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich 3-1 in the DFB Cup Final last night.

DFB Cup Final 2018
Eintracht Frankfurt claimed their first trophy in 30-years with a 3-1 victory over Bayern Munich

Two-goals from Croation striker Ante Rebic helped Eintracht Frankfurt win the DFB Cup Final and also claim their first trophy in the Germany top-flight after 30-years.

The victory was also manager Niko Kovacs first in Germany. Kovac beat the team he will be joining as a manager next season.

Bayern Munich started as favourites to claim the Cup and make it another double winning season in Jupp Heynkes last game in charge before Kovac who sat on the opposite dugout takes over.

The deadlock was broken when Rebic latched onto a loose pass by closing down Bayern defender Mats Hummels to run free one on one with the keeper to make it 1-0.

Frankfurt lead the game until the 53rd minute when Polish striker Robert Lewandowski latched on to a right-wing cross to fire in from close range to level the scores. Surely now Bayern would go onto win it with more than 30 minutes of the game left to play.

However, just as in the first half Rebic pressed Hummels again and stole the ball with some aggressive closing down to make it 2-1 in the 82nd minute of the game with Frankfurt fans now sensing their first trophy since 1988.

Bayern pressed for the equaliser by sending up their goalkeeper for a corner kick in the dying minutes of the game. The first corner had to go to a controversial VAR decision when it was judged that Kevin Prince-Boateng had fouled Javi Martinez in the area.  The referee instead gave another corner-kick to the Bayern players anger.

The resulting corner lead to the third goal and the end of the game for Bayern when substitute Gacinovic tapped the ball past the last Bayern defender with a free run at an empty goal to slide in the ball to tie up the game.

The game ended with Eintracht fans running onto the pitch to celebrate their first trophy in 30-years. The perfect send-off for Croatian manager Niko Kovac.