First UEFA Nations League draw completed

The draw for the new UEFA Nations League was completed yesterday in the Swiss city of Lausanne which will allow nations from all over Europe compete against teams of the same quality within a League format.

UEFA Nations League
The UEFA Nations League was made to allow teams to compete with other teams ranked on a similar level

The newly created UEFA Nations League will see four leagues of A,B,C and D split into four groups of three teams or four. The competition was also designed to eliminate more friendlies and replace them with more competitive matches.

The Nations League, which has promotion and relegation, is designed to allow teams to play against those who are similar ranked and will offer those who do not qualify for Euro 2020 via the normal route a path to the play-offs.

The draw saw some very interested and competitive groups. League A/Group 1 stands out, with Germany, France and Holland drawn together.

League A/Group 4 will see England come up against Spain and Croatia.

League D will see the lowest ranked teams in Europe drawn against each other, with Group 1 pitting Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan and Andorra. It will mean the lower ranked teams will face less drubbings at the hands of the higher ranked teams.

The first round of matches will start this year in September.

The full draw below in full.

League A:

Group 1: Germany, France, Holland

Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland

Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland

Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

League B:

Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic

Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey

Group 3: Austria, Bosnia, Norther Ireland

Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

League C:

Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel

Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia

Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus

Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

League D:

Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino

Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo

Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar